Twelve Months – One YEAR!

7 Sep

My sweet Charlotte,

This has been a bittersweet month for me. You’re getting so big, and it’s hard for me to watch my little baby dissappear before my eyes. I know that as the years go by, it will only get worse.

This month we watched the 2012 London Olympics. Mommy has a soft spot for the Olympics, and it seemed like you enjoyed it as well. You were especially enamored with gymnastics and swimming. Same as Momma!

You got your first big bruise. We’re still not quite sure how, but we think that a run-in with the coffee table is the most likely explanation. It’s a crescent shaped bruise on your left cheek. I don’t like knowing that you got hurt, but literally nothing has changed about your demeanor – I guess that bruise just isn’t a big deal.

One memory I want to keep forever is just a random Sunday night dinner with our family. Nana, Gramps, and Aunt Chris came over to have dinner with us. After dinner we all sat in the living room playing with you, while you ran around giving hugs to everyone and trying to steal ice cubes out of their glasses. You truly are a joy to be around my sweet girl. I love this hugging phase, and I hope it never ends.

We went up to Loveland for lunch with your Great Grandma and Great Grandpa Shields. They are moving with Great Aunt Muriel up to Wyoming because they can’t live in the assisted living home anymore. It was sad to say goodbye, but I’m happy that we got to see them before they left. Hopefully we’ll be able to take a trip up to see them in the near future.

Your Daddy and I celebrated our second wedding anniversary on 8/28/12! We left you with Nana and Gramps for the night and had a wonderful dinner at the Melting Pot. While we missed you and would have liked to have taken you with us, it was also nice to get an evening alone.

When I was pregnant and idealistic, I always said I would never let you watch television as a “babysitter”. Well, consider that one blown to hell. In order to get meals made, sometimes a little Sesame Street is just what you need. I’ll reevaluate television times as you get older, but for now I really don’t mind if you watch a couple minutes of the Cookie Monster so I can get your food prepared.

One random Saturday I made us shells and cheese for lunch. You usually sit in your highchair for meals, but both your Daddy and I just wanted to lounge in the living room. You kept running up to us and demanding more through sign language. By the end of lunch your face was covered in cheese and I think you probably ate about 1/2 a cup all by yourself. You LOVE pasta!

Your birthday was such a bittersweet day for us. It was hard to believe that a year had already passed. I got you out of bed and brought you into Mommy and Daddy’s room and sang you Happy Birthday. We had a pretty normal day – you ate, played, napped, and were your usual cheery self. That night we had homemade pizza for dinner which is a food that you love. At the end of the day, I read you a book and we rocked in your room while I sang Happy Birthday again. I still can’t believe that you’re a whole year old!

Your actual birthday was on a Friday, so we had your party the next day. My intention was to make it a small event with family and close friends, but that still meant we had 20 or so people at our house. Everything turned out great. You loved having everyone there. We took lots of pictures and video, which I’m really happy about – it went by in a flash and I almost don’t even remember it!

Twelve Months:

Words: Mama and Dada. You’re finally catching on to a bit of sign language, and it’s always a thrill to watch you throw your arms up in the air when you’re ALL DONE with meals! Sometimes you say something that sounds like “doggy”, but I’m not sure I really count that.

Movement: You now RUN at full speed. Walking just isn’t fast enough.

Teeth: Top right tooth broke through 8/12/12. Top left broke through 8/13/12. You’re our little vampire baby. The week of 8/20/12, the top two middle teeth broke through. As of your first birthday, you have 7 total teeth – four on top, three on the bottom.

Firsts: BIRTHDAY!

Loves: Getting through the gate and running away from Mommy, watching Sesame Street, “reading” your books, throwing your bouncy balls.

Food-based likes: Watermelon (I think you’d be totally fine with that for every meal of the day), noodles (you slurp them right up), pineapple,

Music-based likes: You dance to pretty much everything I turn on. You love music, just like Momma!

Hates: Teething. But that’s true of most babies, right?

Annoying features: Grinding your teeth. It’s about a million times worse than nails on a chalkboard. It sounds like you have rocks that you’re grinding together inside your mouth. I really hope you outgrow this phase soon.

Weird-ass features: Your love of ice cubes is huge. Anytime anyone gets ice from the freezer, you run over and demand that we share. I’m sure it feels good on your sore gums!

Finds hilarious: Taking your toy balls and dropping them around the house, escaping from the baby-proofed area of the house.

Finds terrifying: You took the nightlight off your wall one day and Momma forgot to put it back in. You woke up at 3am and couldn’t see anything (including your bink, which is what you were really looking for) and got very scared. After Momma came in to rock you and put the nightlight back in, you quickly fell back asleep.

Measurements: 17 pounds even, 27.5 inches long. You’re still measuring on the small side, which is just baffling to us.

Nicknames: Charlie, Charlie Bear, Pumpkin, Sweet Girl, Bam-Bam.

We love you so much, sweet girl.

Leave a Reply

