Thursday Thoughts

23 Feb

1) We survived our first major illness with a baby! Granted, the baby didn’t get sick (thank goodness), but her Dad and I certainly did. Spending the day moving as little as possible and bringing popsicles to my slightly more sick husband was hard enough as it was. Add to that total responsibility for a 5.5 month old baby? It was rough. But here we are on the other side, no worse for the wear.

2) Baby’s sleep habits are astonishing. In a really, really good way. We start bedtime routine at around 6:45pm with a bath, then lotion and pajamas. Then I feed her one more side, take her upstairs and zip her up in the sleep sack and turn on white noise. We sit in the rocking chair and I feed her 2 ounces of formula while I rock and sing to her. Then I give her a kiss, tell her I love her, and put her down in her crib with her pacifier. She generally falls asleep within 5 minutes. And sleeps until we WAKE HER UP at 7am. Basically, my kid rocks at sleeping.

3) I had MAJOR mommy guilt over giving her a little bit of formula. MAJOR. I could probably devote an entire post to the subject of mommy guilt, but I really don’t want to over think it. Because that makes me feel guilty. Vicious cycle.

4) I haven’t had a drink since the 18th. That may not sound like much, but it’s a big deal for me. I feel like making it to March 19th is something I can absolutely accomplish.

5) My dogs have major gas problems. Seriously, they are grossing me out. We have even started putting them in “prison” at night because their gas would actually WAKE US UP. Now that is just unacceptable. Do they make beano for dogs?

6) My new nightly routine includes a mug of hot tea, my face washing ritual, and a good book on my Kindle. I feel like such an adult.

7) Charlotte has started a new habit of kneading my breast while she’s eating. i wouldn’t mind so much, but sometimes kneading turns into flat out grabbing as hard as she can and pulling. The only thing that helps is to hold her free hand, which leaves me with zero hands….. so much for being about to do things with one hand!

8) Baby is up from her morning nap, time to play!

Leave a Reply

