New Questions

1 Sep

1.  Do you think the world became a more dangerous place on September 11, 2001 or did we just become more aware of the danger? How has your own life changed as a result of that day?

I do not think the world is more dangerous.  Crime rates are actually down since the 80’s and 90’s, and if anything, I would argue that the world is safer.  People are more vigilant (to the point of insanity), and security measures increased.  This isn’t always a good thing….

2. Did you think your parents were too strict when you were growing up? How about in hindsight?

My parents were not strict at all.  We certainly weren’t little hellions that ran around destroying everything, but we also weren’t angels.  In hindsight, I think that my parenting style will be similar, except that I don’t plan on using spanking as punishment.  My parents didn’t use physical punishments often, but I do remember them happening.  I personally don’t believe that spanking is a good way for MY family to deal with behavior issues.

3. Share one random but candid fact about yourself.

I have a skin condition on my inner thighs called hydradenitis supprativa.  It’s not too bad right now, but sometimes I can have a flare-up that’s pretty gross.  I get these big abscess looking things on my inner thighs, and they are very painful.  Yuck.

4. Would your nearest and dearest describe you as simple or far too complicated?

Steve would probably describe me as being happily right in the middle.

5. What is your favorite stadium or carnival food?

For carnivals, funnel cakes or corn dogs.  For stadiums, I love having nachos and a beer at baseball games.  Can’t wait to partake next summer with baby in tow!

6. Tornado, hurricane, earthquake…how many of these natural disasters have you experienced? Which event do you think would be the scariest?

The only one that I have actually physically experienced is an earthquake.  That was during my time with SCV out in California.  I’ve been in tornado watches and warnings, but never been directly hit by one.  I think all of them are really scary, depending on the scale.

7. Labor Day weekend is approaching so a work related question seems appropriate. Growing up, did your parents assign you regular chores? Were you paid for doing those chores? If you’re a parent do you assign chores to your own children? Why or why not?

We did have chores.  My brother and I were in charge of doing the dishes every night after dinner.  We also had to keep our rooms clean.  My brother was in charge of mowing the lawn (when we had one, at least).  We got a weekly allowance, but I don’t recall if it was directly linked to our chores.  My children will absolutely be expected to do chores around the house, they will live here too!  I will probably have them do the dishes after dinner, vacuum and mop floors, and they will be in charge of their own laundry when they are old enough.  I’m not sure that Steve will ever give up mowing the lawn to his kids, but they might be expected to help.

8. Insert your own random thought here.

All of my thoughts are about having this baby right now.  And with that, I’m heading up for a hot bath.

Leave a Reply

