36 Weeks

5 Aug

4 more weeks until B-day!  (Baby-day)  3 more weeks of work left (thank GOD).  I’ve been thinking back to the past 7 months – it seems surreal that we found out about this little miracle 213 days ago.  I still remember waking up on New Years Eve morning thinking “I feel weird, something is up….”  One pregnancy test later, add 7 months, and here we are – about to become parents.

How in the world did I know something was up?  I’m just really glad that I took that pregnancy test.  Otherwise, I’m pretty sure I would have imbibed in a little too much champagne and cocktails that night.  Granted, I did drink over the Christmas holidays while I was probably already pregnant…. but of course, the sooner you find out about these things, the better.

Anywho.  The insides:

Baby A:  Weighs around 6 pounds, 18.5 inches long.  That’s as big as a melon!  She is head down, as she has been since our 18 week ultrasound.  Good girl!  She is shedding her vernix and the downy hair, which she will then swallow and it becomes her meconium.  AKA, her first poo.  At the end of this week, she is considered full term.  WOW!

Momma:  Had the most uncomfortable night of sleep yet.  We went to stay at our friend’s house in Estes Park.  The bed up there is tiny, and not the most comfortable thing in the world (ie, hard as a rock).  I woke up at about 3am with absolute SEARING pain in both of my hips.  It literally felt like someone was hammering nails into my hips.  I tried to reposition, but it was too late.

Other than that, things are just fine.  I’m feeling more and more like a beached whale, and baby is welcome to make her appearance any day now.  In fact, I would be totally fine with a mid-August arrival.  But I won’t get my hopes up…..

Daddy:  I know I’ve said this before, but I’m going to keep on saying it over and over – Baby girl, you and I are the luckiest girls in the world to have your Daddy in our lives.  🙂

Leave a Reply

