A River In Egypt

3 Aug

This is going to be a random observation post.  Yep.

  • Denial?  Nah, not me.  It has recently come to my attention that I could go into labor at ANY MOMENT.  Literally.  My water could break in the next 5 seconds, thus beginning the process of bringing my baby girl into the world.  The thing is, I don’t want to get my hopes up.  Every single person in my family thinks I will go late.  My Mom has the latest date, she picked September 12th.  TEN DAYS LATE.  Are they TRYING to discourage me?  Ugh.
  • I calculated last night that Michelle Duggar (aka Clown Car Vagina Lady) has been pregnant for approximately 14 YEARS of her life.  I’m struggling to make it through 9 months.  And I’m already dreading being pregnant again, even though we are planning at least a year before the next one.  How in the world does she think that being pregnant is enjoyable?  Am I missing something?
  • While I would never actually have more than 2 (MAYBE 3) kids, I do admire the Duggars and the way they have raised their children.  They’re brainwashed drones, but at least they respect themselves and their bodies, unlike the vast majority of children and teens that are on television these days.  I don’t think any parent in their right mind would say, ‘I hope my daughter turns out just like one of those Jersey Shore kids’.  But they WOULD possibly say, ‘I hope my daughter turns out like one of those Duggar kids’.
  • My feet have started swelling.  I thought I would be able to avoid the swelling.
  • I’m starting to doubt my birth plan.  I’m thinking of going as long as I can and then just asking for the epidural.  Maybe I can make it all the way through, maybe I can’t.  I’m scared.  Anxious.  Ugh.  If I do end up having a c-section, I don’t want general anesthesia.  Why does this have to be so complicated?
  • If I do get an epidural, will I be disappointed in myself?  Will I ruin my chances at breastfeeding?
  • I find myself caring less and less about drum corps.  In past seasons, I would have been livid about SCV scoring so badly.  This season?  Eh.  Maybe I’m just getting used to them sucking it up in the 6-8 slots…..  Sad day.
  • The amount of discomfort I am feeling gets worse as the day winds to an end.  I wake up in the morning feeling pretty darn good – by 2pm I’m starting to fade.  By 7pm I’m a walking zombie.
  • I’m sick of people telling me to “get sleep while you can”.  I sleep a normal amount, and I wake up when I’m rested.  There is no humanly possible way to “store up” sleep.  Just because I sleep a bit more now doesn’t mean I’ll be better off when the baby comes.  I KNOW that it will be a rough couple of months when baby girl arrives in terms of sleep – sleeping more now isn’t going to change that ONE IOTA.
  • I ordered a massage tool for use during labor (and hopefully after as well!) online because I couldn’t find one in any store I’ve tried.  Is that weird?  It seems like a fairly common item….
  • My best friend’s baby shower is scheduled for September 18th.  Which is all fine and dandy, but am I really going to want to take a 1-2 week old to a big party full of people and foreign germs?  I’m thinking probably not…..
  • I’m trying to find an awesome puzzle to work on in the early stages of my labor.  This is easier said than done.  I find a lot of puzzles to be silly or have a bad photograph as their basis.  Maybe I’m just being picky.
  • Baby girl doesn’t have as much room in there to move around, but she definitely still gets in some strong kicks and punches.  She has also decided that ramming her head up against my bladder is just a really, REALLY fun game.
  • I have 354 accrued sick and vacation hours right now.  That means that I will continue getting paid after baby girl is born for 11-12 weeks.  At full pay.  Love it.

 

Leave a Reply

