34 Weeks

22 Jul

I had another midwife appointment this past week, and they are becoming quite mundane and boring.  My blood pressure is almost identical each time I go (124/76), baby’s heart rate is always about 150.  I always measure appropriately for gestational age.  BORING.

In NON-boring news, I came down with a case of strep throat this week.  FUN!  I used to get strep a lot as a child, and was considered a strep carrier.  Basically, I know exactly what the symptoms are and I know when I’m coming down with a case.  My throat gets a bit sore, it’s hard to swallow, and then when I look into my throat, there are large puss pockets on my tonsils.  I never get REALLY sick, but I’m still contagious.  So basically I missed 2 days of work to stay at home and be sick, but not REALLY sick.  Lame.

Insides:

Baby A:  Weighs about 4.75 pounds, measures about 18 inches long.  Getting fat layers to make her more round.  Pack those pounds onto your thighs, baby!  There is nothing cuter than fat baby thighs….

Mama:  I’m sleeping well at night, but wake up 2-3 times to use the bathroom.  When I get back to bed, it takes a while to get all of the pillows readjusted and get back to sleep.  Annoying.  Took the second of our childbirth classes, and we were still the kids in the back of the class laughing about anatomy.  Whoops.  I picked a pediatrician, and it just happens to be the exact same practice my Mom took me to when I was a kid.  In fact, my pediatrician is still there.  I highly doubt he does a whole lot of clinic time at this point, as he should probably be pretty close to retirement.  Other than that, I’m just tired.  Constantly.  I could probably just lounge in bed 24/7 and still be tired.

Also, I’m asking for an elliptical machine for my birthday.  It sounds silly, but it’s something that I’ve wanted for a while now.  I know that it will be very handy when I’m trying to lose baby weight in the middle of the cold winter.

Daddy:  Thought the childbirth classes were helpful, and also stimulated some conversations we’ve been needing to have.  He has a better idea of what to expect during the labor and delivery process, and we had some serious discussions of pain management.  Basically, I’ve decided that I don’t want pain medication offered unless I ask for it.

So much of the childbirth process is completely unknown.  I can read a thousand books, but that doesn’t change the fact that I personally have never given birth to a child.  I don’t know what the pain is going to be like.  I don’t know if it will be bearable, or if I will be screaming for narcotics within the first hour.  I don’t know how quickly my labor will progress.  It could be as short as 6 hours.  It could be a marathon 24 hours.  I could get to the point where I’m completely exhausted and ask for the epidural just so I can get some rest.

This is all basically just a long way of saying – I have a birth plan.  I think it’s a good plan.  But I’m also realistic and know that things rarely go according to a plan, especially when it comes to something like childbirth.  So while I *hope* to have a natural, unmedicated childbirth, I am also ready and willing to accept any type of childbirth that results in healthy baby, and healthy Mama.  Phew.

Leave a Reply

