Birth Plan

19 Jul

At my last midwife appointment, I was given a 3rd trimester packet and included was a birth plan to fill out.  Steve and I went over the preliminaries this week, and I figured it would be a good idea to put down my plans in writing.

During Labor:

  • My support person is Steve (my husband).  He should be with me the whole time and informed of everything related to the care of myself and our baby.
  • Other people allowed in the room are my mother (if she is able to be in town at the time of birth), and my friend Laura.
  • No IV – if an IV is necessary, I would prefer it to be hep-locked.
  • I would like to be free to walk, sit, squat, and do anything that will help get through contractions.
  • I would like the option of using the tub during labor.
  • Limited cervical checks, and I DO NOT want to know what my progress is.  If Steve or my other support people would like to know, please take them into the hall to tell them.
  • Please do not offer me pain medications.  I know what my options are, and will ask for them if I choose.
  • I would like the lights to be dimmed and calming music to be played.  I also request that people speak softly and use gentle language.

During Birth:

  • I do not want a mirror.
  • I would like to push in alternative positions.  I am open to suggestions on any pushing positions.
  • My baby should be placed directly onto my chest when born.
  • Delayed vital signs and medications.
  • Delayed cord clamping/cutting.
  • Steve would like to cut the cord.
  • If I have to have a cesarean section, Steve should be with me at all times.

Post Birth:

  • I will be exclusively breastfeeding.  My baby should receive NO formula or pacifiers without my consent.
  • Baby will stay in the room with Steve and I at all times.  If baby needs to go somewhere, Steve will go with her.
  • Steve would like to help with baby’s first bath.
  • I would like to go home as soon as medically possible for both my baby and I.
  • I would like a visit from the lactation counselor.
  • If my baby needs nutritional supplementation, it must be from the milk bank.
Leave a Reply

