Pregnancy Doesn’t Suck ALL The Time

18 Jul

I complain a lot about pregnancy.  It hasn’t been the easiest 8 months for me so far, but not everything about pregnancy sucks.  In order to gain some perspective, here are some things that DON’T suck about pregnancy.

  1. My body is capable of nourishing and growing a HUMAN.  Just stop and think about that for a second.  What started as just a miniscule egg and sperm has grown into a fully functioning HUMAN.  Biology is awesome.
  2. Pretty soon that HUMAN is going to be on the outside.  I can’t wait to do things like dress her up and show her off to family and friends.  I also can’t wait to teach her things like “go into a hard science field, don’t be dumb like Mommy”.
  3. She is also going to teach us a lot about life.  Like, not everything can be planned.  And sometimes, you just have to abandon your plans to go run in the sprinklers.
  4. I’m actually getting used to this whole body as an incubator thing.  When Baby makes her appearance, I think I’ll miss having her in there.  I’ll miss knowing exactly where she is at all times, and feeling her little kicks and turns throughout the day.
  5. Family and friends have been extremely supportive, and I feel lucky that we have them in our lives.  With as much bitching as I do about certain family members, the others make up for it in spades.
  6. I knew that my love for my husband would grow as our marriage gets “older”, but the amount it has grown has been astounding.  I absolutely love that man, and I know with every inch of my soul that I married the right guy.  He is an outstanding husband, provider, and friend.  I know that he will be the best Daddy in the world.  I can’t wait to see him actively take on that role.
  7. Because of this pregnancy, I get to stop working at a job that is sucking the life force out of me.  And hopefully during the time that I’m not working, I can get my masters degree and get a GOOD job when I re-enter the workforce.  Win-win for everyone!
  8. I get to be a Mother.  A little human is going to call me ‘Mommy’.  I get the warm fuzzies just thinking about it.
Leave a Reply

