30 Weeks?!?!

24 Jun

I’m 3/4 of the way done with being pregnant!  Everyone rejoice!

This past week I had a midwife appointment and she said my labor should be easy because of my long torso, and then called me ‘perfect’.  I love her.  LOVE.  I’m measuring at 28 weeks, which is perfectly fine.  Baby is very active, and had to be chased around with the doppler to find her heartbeat.  I also spoke to her a little more about my natural birth plans, and she basically said – “if that’s what you want to do, you can absolutely do it.”  I love that my midwife practice is so supportive of the natural process!

Here’s the inside (ha!) scoop:

Is it just me, or is she starting to look really cramped in there?  Hang in there, baby!  Only 7 more weeks until you’re officially, fully cooked!

Bambino:  15.7 inches long, and weighing in at almost 3 pounds.  Her eyesight is continuing to develop, but will still only be 20/400 when born.  It’s a fuzzy world, babe!

Momma:  Got my first Braxton-Hicks contractions this past week!  I was sitting on the couch watching Gilmore Girls, and noticed that my abdomen was really tight.  It didn’t hurt at all, but when I poked at my belly it was definitely tight!  Crazy.  I’m having back pains, but nothing that’s too awful.  I feel blessed that my pregnancy is going so smoothly (knock on wood!).  Other than the constant peeing – that I could do without.  I feel like I’m absolutely about to burst, and when I sit down on the toilet it feels like barely a trickle comes out.  Very frustrating.

We got the first 10 fabric pieces for the 52 week photo project I have planned.  At the end of baby’s first year, I plan to make a quilt for her.  Fun!  Hopefully I pick up quilting quickly, since it’s something I’ve never done before.  Laura says it’s pretty easy, and I’ll take her word for it.

Daddy:  Celebrated our first Father’s Day!  We didn’t go too crazy, since Steve just got back from a visit to Washington DC.  Baby and I got him a cordless screwdriver and made him a nice dinner.  I’m really looking forward to future Father’s Day celebrations!

Leave a Reply

