26 Weeks

27 May

Whoa!

I had another checkup with the midwife this week.  The bad news is that my weight gain has picked up.  I have gained a total of 15 pounds so far, and reached my ‘scary weight’ – you know, the weight that I never ever wanted to see on a scale.  So instead of wallowing in pity and despair, I’m going to do something about it.

Gaining weight while pregnant is obviously unavoidable, but there are things that I can do to control my weight and make sure my gain isn’t out of control.  Here’s my plan for the rest of this pregnancy:

  1. Daily walks on weekdays after lunch.
  2. Daily walks in the evenings with Steve and the dogs after dinner.
  3. Dessert is fine – but only 2 times per week.
  4. Track my daily calories.  I’m not going to restrict myself per say, but I just think that I will be much more aware of my daily intake if I track exactly what I’m eating.  This should limit overeating, and help me to know if dessert fits into my day.
  5. Try out a yoga DVD for pregnancy.  I already added one to my Netflix instant queue, so I will give it a shot and see if it’s something I can add to my daily routine.

So, the insides:

Baby A:  She’s starting to look a little squished in there!  Only 14 more weeks, little one.  Measuring around 14 inches long and weighs about a pound and 2/3.  She can hear a lot more now, and is inhaling and exhaling amniotic fluid in order to develop her lungs.

Momma:  Bummed about the weight gain, but feeling better because I have a plan of attack.  Might as well get the workouts started now, right?

Dad: Mostly just happy that there isn’t any problem with the ‘beetus’.  🙂

Leave a Reply

