My Birth Experience

23 May

I’ve been thinking a lot lately about how I want my birth experience to be.  In doing this thinking, I can’t help but imagine the scary, bad things that might happen.  I thought it would be good to sit down and imagine what a good vs. bad birth experience would be for me.

Bad birth experience:

-Feeling rushed and frazzled by medical personnel.

-Not being able to walk and move as I please during labor

-Having to push on my back.

-Miserable and painful, begging for pain relief.

-Worrying more about other people than myself and our baby.

-Anxiety about being a Mom.

-Worrying about being too loud/too quiet/too polite/too rude, etc.

-Having people in the birthing room that I don’t want to have there.

-Not getting baby right after birth for skin-to-skin contact and bonding time.

-Cutting umbilical cord immediately.

Good birth experience:

-Steve and my Mom (or Laura if my Mom can’t make it) are the only people in the room besides medical personnel.

-Walking, moving, sitting on the birth ball, laboring in the water, and any other positions that feel good to me are available during labor and delivery.

-Quiet room with my preferred music playing, no television unless I want it.

-Being able to handle the contractions and pushing with no medical interventions.

-Having skin-to-skin contact directly after birth.

-Delayed cord clamping.

-No baby measurements and tests until at least an hour has passed after birth.

-Excitement.

-Quiet time with my husband and our daughter after she is born.

In order to accomplish everything in my good birth experience, I know that I have to prepare and ready myself.  I also have to go into this experience knowing that not everything goes exactly as planned.  I have to prepare for everything, hope for the best, but also be prepared for the worst.  Here is a list of things that I want to have for the birth of our baby:

  1. iPod, fully charged and loaded up with playlists.
  2. Kindle, fully charged and loaded with several reading options.
  3. DVDs for distraction.
  4. My favorite pillow (maybe get a waterproof pillowcase or cover for it so it doesn’t get ruined?).
  5. Snacks for myself and Steve.
  6. A blanket?  Not sure about this, don’t want to get anything ruined.
  7. Change of clothes for Steve.
  8. Comfy pajamas, hospital gowns my Mom made, and a ‘coming home’ outfit for myself and baby.
  9. Toiletries (toothbrush, toothpaste, shampoo, conditioner, body wash, face wash, loofah, hairbrush, hair ties, blow dryer, makeup, lotion, deodorant, moisturizer).

There are also other things we really need to think about before the big day, such as stocking up the fridge and freezer with quick and easy meals, who is going to take care of the dogs while we’re at the hospital, and what we are going to allow in regards to visitors in the hospital and when we go home.

It makes me feel much better to have these things written down, so I think I will have to do more of these in the future.

Leave a Reply

