Insomnia

21 Apr

Apparently the insomnia part of pregnancy has begun – oh joy.  I make my way up to bed around 9pm every evening, take my prenatal vitamin, and snuggle into bed.  Sometimes I read, sometimes I watch television with my husband.  In the past, I have ALWAYS fallen asleep before Steve.  Always.

In the past week, however, things are very different.  Steve gets to sleep, and the second I turn off the lights I am wide awake.  Like, I could probably get up and clean the whole house with the amount of energy I feel like I have.  I try to fight the energy, and just lay in bed quietly, hoping that sleep will come.  That doesn’t usually work.

Last night I was up until almost midnight.  I woke up 3 times during the night to use the bathroom, and woke up at 7am when the alarm went off.  When I use the bathroom during the night, it takes me a good 20 minutes to get back to sleep.  Which means that I got a grand total of maybe six hours of sleep last night.  People say this is your body’s way of getting ready for a screaming baby at all hours of the night.  Whatever…. I just need a nap.

Leave a Reply

