The Good Things

20 Apr

Despite all of my complaining about the never ending heartburn and my changing body, there really are some good things about being pregnant.  And because it’s important to take a moment and focus on the positive every once in a while, here we go.

1)  I have a lot more willpower than I ever thought.  Before getting pregnant, I really was worried about the food and drink restrictions.  I really enjoyed my evening cocktails, sushi out with friends, and deli sandwiches.  I found out I was pregnant on the morning of December 31st, and I haven’t had a drink since then.  I still occasionally treat myself to a sandwich from Jimmy John’s, but I think that’s perfectly okay.  And while I miss having a glass of wine at the end of a long day, I really don’t miss it all that much.  It kind of surprises me.

2)  I now have higher standards.  Instead of just accepting things, I demand better.  When I catch myself using foul language, I stop and think of better words.  I certainly don’t want to use bad language around my child, and I think that changing that behavior now will make it easier in the long run.  I also expect more out of the people around me.  When Steve swears, I ask him to use nicer words.  There are other examples, but my brain is just not coming up with anything right now.

3)  I love my husband more and more with each passing day of this pregnancy.  Obviously, I loved him very much before getting pregnant.  I married him, right?  I’m starting to see Steve as more than just my husband and best friend – I’m seeing him as a father and a provider.  He still drives me completely batty sometimes, but I’m okay with that.  I know he’s going to be an amazing father, and I can’t wait to see him holding our child for the first time.

4)  Distraction from the mundane.  My job is boring.  There are days where I would love to just up and quit, but I really do want to hang on to the paycheck as long as possible.  During those times, it seems like baby always gives me a little kick (literally) and it picks me right up.  Thanks, bambino!

5)  Seeing how happy Steve’s parents are about becoming grandparents.  My parents are obviously happy as well, but it’s just different with Steve’s parents.  They really did think they would never get any grandchildren.  Steve is 36 years old, and his younger sister is not likely to ever have any children.  Our child(ren?) will likely be the only ones on his side of the family.  His Dad is already talking about taking the kids to Rockies games and how fun the holidays are going to be.

6)  Food!  Glorious food!  I certainly haven’t taken this opportunity to eat whatever the heck I want, but I have let myself indulge a bit more than I would normally allow.  I eat burritos (with super spicy salsa, of course) 1-2 times a week, and I let myself have dessert if I’m craving it.  These are things that I never would let myself do before pregnancy, since I was always ‘on a diet’.  It’s nice to just eat and not worry about calorie/fat/protein/carb intake.

That’s all I have for now – there are probably more things that are positive about being pregnant, but my brain won’t let me think too long before demanding more food.

Leave a Reply

