18 Weeks

1 Apr

Whoa!  It seems like I say that every week, but……. whoa!  I’m now 18 weeks along and things are going really well.

I had an appointment with my midwife this past Monday and it went really well.  My weight is finally going up a little bit (although I think it was a fluke, since my appointment was later in the day rather than first thing in the morning like usual), and I’m measuring appropriately.

Earlier in the day of my appointment, I felt some fluttering and wondered if it was the baby moving.  Because I’ve never been pregnant before, I have absolutely no clue what it’s supposed to feel like.  At the appointment, the midwife was listening to the heartbeat with the doppler and there was a thumping noise – apparently that was baby kicking the monitor!  The baby did it again, and I felt the fluttering at the same time.  So now I know – baby is moving and I can feel it!  So cool!

We also had some preliminary discussions regarding water birth and their stance on interventions such as fetal monitoring and induction.  I’m pretty sure I would like to try and at least labor in water, and I want as little intervention as possible.  I have a lot more thinking and research to do in this area.

So, on to the stats.  Here’s what baby is looking like this week:

Baby:  5 1/2 inches long, 7 ounces.  About as big as a bell pepper.  Blood vessels are visible through its thin skin, and ears are now in their correct position.

Momma:  Finally really starting to show, although it still just looks like I have had one too many burritos.  The whole “second trimester energy jump” is still elusive, and I’m exhausted.  I take a nap every single day, and go to bed by 9pm every night.

Daddy:  Not “excited” about learning if baby is a boy or a girl, but “anxious”.  Not really sure what the difference is, but we’ll just go with it.

We find out today if it’s a boy or a girl, so my next post will be the big gender reveal!  🙂

Leave a Reply

