The Name Game

14 Mar

I saw this posted in some other blogs, and decided to play along.

1. How did your parents decide on your name?
Honestly, I have no clue.  Any info, Mom and Dad?

2. Do your initials (first/middle/last) spell anything funny?
I went from LKS to LKA, so nothing funny about either.  Sad.

3. Did you take your middle name from childhood or did you drop your middle name & take your maiden name as your middle name? (Or if unmarried, what do you plan to do?)
I dropped my maiden name and kept my middle name.  Truthfully, I don’t hold any special attachments to names – they are just an identifier, they don’t define who I am.  At any rate, my brother passed on my maiden name to my niece.  And my kids are definitely going to have my new last name.

4. Are you or will you name your children systematically? (ie, same first letter, same origin, etc)
Absolutely not.  I think my husband would divorce me if I wanted to do that.

5. Did you decide on baby names as a little girl? Did you stick to them or change your mind?
I’ve always really loved certain names, and I still love them.  I can’t say them right now because they are on the short list for our baby’s name.

6. Does your family have any names that have been passed down through generations?
Steve’s middle name is his father’s first name.  My Grandfather’s name is Oliver William and my father’s name is William Oliver, but my Mom didn’t want to name my brother Oliver.  So that tradition ended.

7. Do you look at the meaning of the name or just the name itself?
I only look at the name itself.  I also do a little test with the full name to see if it sounds good.  I just add “The President of the United States of America, ______” and see if it sounds good.  For example, Addison Makayla Smith sounds awful – Susan Elizabeth Smith sounds great.

8. Do you name pets with human names or pet names?
Let’s see – Pepper, Chelsea, Bad Kitty, Sandy, and Sherman.  3/5 are human names.  Sandy and Sherman came to me with their names because they were racing dogs (Sandy was See Sandra Lee, Sherman was KJ Sherman).  I don’t have a preference either way, if I had a choice (meaning not getting a retired greyhound), I would just name the animal based on personality and what fits.

9. Are their any names that you have an affinity or dislike for based on a childhood experience/someone you once knew?
Not really people I once knew – but there are certain names that I HATE.  Addison, Madison, Skylar, Katelynn (and all its various spellings), any name that is “creatively” spelled (Makayla, I’m looking at you), Nevaeh (dumb, dumb, dumb, dumb, DUMB),  and any name that has extraneous Y’s.  There are a lot more that I hate, but I’ll stop there.  I hate the name Andrew because of a few awful exes – which is ironic, considering my last name.  🙂

10. What are some of your favorite names & why?
I’m only going to say ones that have already been eliminated from our short list.  I really love Ingrid, Olivia, Alexander, Samantha, Hailey, Claire, Wyatt, Henry.  I obviously tend to like more classic, traditional names.

Leave a Reply

